Given the wave of data breaches, the amount of time we’re spending in front of a screen, and Instagram being annoying with all their algorithmic changes, you may be considering whether or not to deactivate or delete your Instagram account. The two options are as follows:
- Temporarily disable my account – this option allows you to restore your account at a future date.
- Permanently delete my account – this option is permanent and irreversible. Once you a delete the account, there is no way to restore it, nor will you be able to use the username again.
Rather than deleting your account, we recommend temporarily deactivating your account for several reasons:
- Change of mind – you may change your mind tomorrow or months down the line and wish to return to Instagram.
- Username – if you temporarily deactivate your account, you’ll be able to keep your username upon return. If you delete your account, that username is no longer usable on Instagram.
- Keep Your Posts and Followers – when you temporarily deactivate your account, upon restoring it, your posts and followers will still be available.
If you’ve already confirmed your decision, then follow the instructions below to learn how to deactivate or delete your Instagram account.
How to Deactivate Your Instagram Account
Follow the instructions below to temporarily deactivate or disable Instagram.
1) Login to your Instagram account via a desktop (not on mobile).
2) Click to the link given below. https://www.instagram.com/accounts/remove/request/temporary/
3) Select a reason for disabling your account from the drop-down menu.
4) Re-enter your password and click ‘Temporarily Disable Account’.
NOTE: When you press the button, your photos, comments and likes will be hidden until you reactivate your account.
Reference: See Instagram’s instructions here – https://help.instagram.com/728869160569983
How to Delete Your Instagram Account
Follow the instructions below to delete your Instagram account permanently. Bear in mind that once you delete your account, all your photos will be removed forever.
1) Click to the link given below.
2) Next to ‘Why are you deleting your account?’, use the drop-down menu to select a reason.
3) Instagram will try to offer suggestions, but if you are determined to leave, re-enter your password as prompted, and click Permanently delete my account.
Reference: See Instagram’s instructions here – https://help.instagram.com/139886812848894
That’s it! If Instagram is disrupting your life or you’re simply tired of the platform, it’s not unusual to entertain one of these options. Of course, we certainly hope you do not as Instagram’s more fun with you on it!